Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Cindy Winter Scholarship Award

Dr. Megan Haselschwerdt, Recipient of 2017 Cindy Winter Scholarship Award

NCFR Recognizes Megan Haselschwerdt for Outstanding Leadership

The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) is proud to recognize Megan L. Haselschwerdt as the 2017 recipient of the Cindy Winter Scholarship, which is given to a student or new professional who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service in the discipline of Family Science.


Dr. Haselschwerdt joins the 5 other recipients of this award since 2007, including Karen Bluth of the University of Tennessee in 2011.

Megan Haselschwerdt joined UTK’s Child and Family Studies Department in the Fall of 2017 and is quickly becoming a favorite.

Along with her research team of graduate and undergraduate students and faculty collaborators, Dr. Haselschwerdt studies intimate partner violence (IPV) from the perspective of women, children exposed to IPV in their family of origin, and social service providers working with women and children. She predominately utilizes qualitative and mixed methods approaches. She serves as the director of the Family Violence Across the Lifespan research team that she established at Auburn University. Dr. Haselschwerdt has received funding from the Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station to carry out her research on the experiences of young adults exposed to IPV. Additionally, she serves as an emerging investigator on a CDC-funded project, Bystander Program Adoption & Efficacy to Reduce Sexual Violence-Intimate Partner Violence in College Communities, along with a team of veteran and junior gender-based violence scholars.
You can follow her research team, including her students’ successes on their Facebook page.

NCFR has been a central part of her professional development and growth beginning in 2007 during her first year in graduate school. Since then, Dr. Haselschwerdt has served in a variety of leadership roles, including the Students and New Professionals (SNP) representative for the Feminism and Family Studies Section, co-chair of the Qualitative Family Research Network Focus Group, and the SNP program representative. More recently, she was elected as the chair-elect for the Feminism and Family Studies Section. In her 10 years of membership, Dr. Haselschwerdt has received the NCFR Student Award, the Jessie Bernard Outstanding Contribution to Feminist Scholarship Paper Award, and the SNP President for the Day Award.

In her letter of recommendation, Dr. Amy J. Rauer writes that Dr. Haselschwerdt “is someone who goes above and beyond to ensure that her department and her field thrive. The fact that this has not come at the cost of her research, teaching, and mentoring reflects the fact that Megan appears to have a nearly endless supply of passion and motivation, and our field is certainly the better as a result!”

Dr. Haselschwerdt was recognized for her achievements at the 2017 NCFR Annual Conference, in Orlando, Florida.

This award recognizes Cindy Winter, NCFR’s Conference Director from 1964-2007.

The National Council on Family Relations is the premier professional association for the multidisciplinary understanding of families. NCFR has a membership of nearly 3,000 family researchers, practitioners and educators. For more information on the National Council on Family Relations or its scholarly publications, visit the NCFR website at